Daily Prayer Guide: Tuesday Dec 15

Scripture Reading

Zephaniah 3:14-20

14 Sing, O daughter of Zion; shout aloud, O Israel! Be glad and rejoice with all your heart, O daughter of Jerusalem!  15 For the LORD will remove his hand of judgment and will disperse the armies of your enemy. And the LORD himself, the King of Israel, will live among you! At last your troubles will be over, and you will never again fear disaster.  16 On that day the announcement to Jerusalem will be, “Cheer up, Zion! Don’t be afraid!  17 For the LORD your God is living among you. He is a mighty savior. He will take delight in you with gladness. With his love, he will calm all your fears. He will rejoice over you with joyful songs.”  18 “I will gather you who mourn for the appointed festivals; you will be disgraced no more.  19 And I will deal severely with all who have oppressed you. I will save the weak and helpless ones; I will bring together those who were chased away. I will give glory and fame to my former exiles, wherever they have been mocked and shamed.  20 On that day I will gather you together and bring you home again. I will give you a good name, a name of distinction, among all the nations of the earth, as I restore your fortunes before their very eyes. I, the LORD, have spoken!”

Meditation

Could it really be the God of the universe rejoices over us with singing? It paints an intriguing picture: God saving us, delighting in us, quieting us with his love, and singing a song for us. Imagine God as a kind of troubadour, serenading us with his love.

I live so much of my life in fear, especially this time of year. Will I do, say, think, believe the right things? Will I live up to the expectations of my friends, my family? Perhaps you can relate. I don’t mean a melodramatic fear that cripples my capacity. On the contrary it is the fear that keeps going, propelling me to excel and to achieve. It is so often the fear pushing me to move faster, work harder, do more. And along comes God, telling me not to fear, quieting me with his love.

Today, what might it look like for you to be quieted by the love of God? Perhaps it means slowing down a bit, turning off the TV, unplugging the internet. Perhaps it’s a simple attitude adjustment. Perhaps it’s a shift in perspective, allowing God to redefine who you are. Will you be defined by the things that you say and do? Will you be defined by the pressures of today, the failures, the success? Or will you be defined by these words:

The LORD your God is with you,
he is mighty to save.
He will take great delight in you,
he will quiet you with his love,
he will rejoice over you with singing.

Reflection and Prayer

// Pray that God might open your heart to a richer understanding of who you are.

// In addition to prayers that come from your heart, you may find this prayer a helpful guide. Notice the rhythm of the prayer. You may find it helpful to repeat this prayer several times.

God to enfold me
God to surround me
God in my speaking
God in my thinking
God in my sleeping
God in my walking
God in watching
God in my hoping
God in my life
God in my lips
God in my hands
God in my heart
God in my sufficing
God in my slumber
God in my ever-living soul
God in my eternity

Written by Paul Lefeber

Click here to download Week 3 Prayer Guide: Sun Dec 13-Sat 19

0 Responses to “Daily Prayer Guide: Tuesday Dec 15”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Love All

Act Local: Share gifts of time and resources with those in our community. At the Impact Tree in the Atrium, find opportunities available for individuals, families and life groups. All the information you need will be on the cards by the Tree. Take a card – put an ornament on the tree.

Give Global: On Sunday, December 13 during services, we'll take up an Advent Conspiracy offering (a direct result of spending less) to give towards clean water projects and wheelchair needs in Honduras, Kenya and Romania. If you won’t be able to join us at services on that day but still want to participate, just write "Advent" in the memo of your check and drop it in any of the offering boxes.


