Six-year-olds Can Change the World

I teach first grade at a public school on the west side of Madison. A few weeks ago, we were having a discussion about how we all are alike and different. One of my little cherubs raised her hand and said very proudly, “We are all alike because we all agree that God created the heavens and the earth”.

I smiled, told the child that though I believed that and she believed that, that everyone may not be familiar with what the Bible teaches. I silently thought about how great it was that this little girl knew this truth and wondered if perhaps she went to church. The following day I wrote this writing prompt on the board: One way I can help make the world a better place is …

Without missing a beat, this same child quickly raised her hand. She said she was ALREADY making the world better. When I asked for her example, she said that she was giving up a Christmas present and the money that she would have spent on the present was going to help poor kids in Peru have clean water to drink!

Again I thought, wow. This is just awesome. This child truly has a compassionate heart. And only 6 years old!

Sunday moring as I worshipped at the 9:00 service, I suddenly put it all together – there sat the child’s parents right in front of me. I had no idea the family attended Blackhawk! I wrote a note to my student to tell her that I go to her church and had sat next to her mom and dad. I asked mom to deliver the note. I wish you could have seen her smile this morning as she came in the classroom and gave me a huge hug. I am not sure if she was more proud of the fact that she and her teacher had this special secret, or that she has learned to read so well that she could read my note all by herself. Nevertheless, she was one proud little girl.

This is just one more example of how Blackhawk is changing lives. The Bible teaches that a “little child shall lead them.” This young one is a shining light to her first grade classmates becuase she is hearing truth and even at her young age is thinking about how she can make a positive difference in the world. Thanks for your part in making Blackhawk a place where even the six year olds are on a journey toward God!

Written by Cindy Desjardins

1 Response to “Six-year-olds Can Change the World”


  1. 1 Robert Deyes January 16, 2009 at 10:08 am

    What an amazing testimony Cindy!

    Robert


Leave a Reply

Love All

Act Local: Share gifts of time and resources with those in our community. At the Impact Tree in the Atrium, find opportunities available for individuals, families and life groups. All the information you need will be on the cards by the Tree. Take a card – put an ornament on the tree.

Give Global: On Sunday, December 13 during services, we'll take up an Advent Conspiracy offering (a direct result of spending less) to give towards clean water projects and wheelchair needs in Honduras, Kenya and Romania. If you won’t be able to join us at services on that day but still want to participate, just write "Advent" in the memo of your check and drop it in any of the offering boxes.


