Poop Water

I have poop water in my basement.

I bet you’re wondering how this even relates to Advent Conspiracy, but I promise you it does relate. 

So yesterday I was about to put some dirty laundry in the washing machine and I noticed that we had a lovely puddle of poop water in our laundry room. My first thought was, “Crap! Not again!” See, this had happened once before on the fourth of July. My husband, Joel, and his brother, Peter, noticed a poop water puddle and we ended up having to get our sewer pipes snaked for 4 hours by a plumber – not an expense we were wanting or needing at the time. Now it’s happened again! And right before Christmas, you’ve got to be kidding me – can’t we have a break from fixing broken things in our house?! 

dropletAfter a few moments (okay, it probably was an hour or so) of bellyaching, moaning and pitying our current situation, I realized we really are lucky to have poop water in our basement (okay, that was a hard realization to get to, I’ll be honest). Having poop water in our basement means that we have a system that takes away our poopy water and brings us clean water. It’s malfunctioning at the moment, but it is fixable. Most of the world does not have that luxury, they can’t just turn on the tap and drink water without thinking. They don’t have systems that separate and make sure they are not drinking their poop water. They also don’t use clean water in a shower without thinking (like I do). 

Looking at the poop water reminded me of one of my patients (I’m a nurse). This summer he had a few infected boils and sores that I was trying to keep clean and get to heal. I was lecturing him about keeping himself clean throughout the day and asked how often/frequently he was able to shower. His reply? “I don’t have a shower, I clean up in Lake Mendota.” He must have seen the look on my face (of disgust – have you seen the green aglea?) and he replied, “Hey, I don’t have a house and access to water all the time. What do you expect me to do?” He was right, and I was ashamed. I completely take advantage of my clean water. I don’t even think about how lucky we are to have water on demand. We also have a warm house, a warm bed, food in our bellies and a million other things that make us blessed.

The second thought that popped into my head was how blessed we are financially to be able to call a plumber and have our sewer de-clogged. In this uneasy financial time, we are blessed with savings and year end bonuses to pay for a plumber. A good portion of Madison and the US don’t have this luxury. You see, just the day before the poop water was in our basement, Joel got his year end bonus from work. I joked that we should use it to fix something in the house, we just didn’t know what. Well, that is going to come in handy at this time.

The Lord provides, it’s as simple as that. And that simplicity is amazing! We have a God that knows our needs, knows our desires, and provides just when we need it. The Lord is faithful and we should know and remember that. I don’t think it was a coincidence that poop water was in my basement the same week we gave to Advent Conspiracy. I don’t think it was a coincidence that we received a check the day before poop water puddle appeared.  

Advent Conspiracy is about more than us; it’s about others and trusting the Lord above all to provide. So in this week of Christ’s birth, go forth with the knowledge that the Lord is powerful, He provides for us way beyond anything we can ever imagine. Be thankful for your home, food, family, friends, clean water and no more poop water in our basement. And as I listen to the plumber use his industrial strength snake, I am thankful.  

May the peace of Christ dwell in you richly this season and may you remember your blessings. 

Written by Shannon Anderson

0 Responses to “Poop Water”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Love All

Act Local: Share gifts of time and resources with those in our community. At the Impact Tree in the Atrium, find opportunities available for individuals, families and life groups. All the information you need will be on the cards by the Tree. Take a card – put an ornament on the tree.

Give Global: On Sunday, December 13 during services, we'll take up an Advent Conspiracy offering (a direct result of spending less) to give towards clean water projects and wheelchair needs in Honduras, Kenya and Romania. If you won’t be able to join us at services on that day but still want to participate, just write "Advent" in the memo of your check and drop it in any of the offering boxes.


