Conspiracy + Bowling = Baby Chicks?

When the Advent Conspiracy idea was presented at Blackhawk, my creative juices started flowing and it was exciting to plan to conspire! I came up with a conspiracy equation sure to please and inspire all involved: Conspiracy + Bowling = Baby Chicks…right? Read on for an explanation …

baby-chickEach week I cook for my extended family and a few friends – 11 to be exact, each Wednesday. So this week, instead of me cooking at my home, I announced that I am taking everyone to the bowling alley for their Christmas gift … fun and pizza! What a surprise for them! And another surprise hit when I said that for each strike and spare that all roll, I am going to “buy” a baby chick to give to those less fortunate than us through World Vision (haven’t World Visions catalogs been great this season?).

My family was so excited! And one of the attenders even said that they might have to donate a calf through the Heifer International for high and low scorers…sounds like a new tradition has been birthed!

Thank you Advent Conspiracy for the opportunity to share a new adventure with my family which may turn into a great new tradition of giving generously to those in need! Wish me luck as I scout the stores to find some kind of plastic baby chicks to use as a visual aide. Now that is the kind of Christmas shopping I love to do! Any ideas where I can find cheap little fuzzy chickens?

Here’s to conspiring and pointing to Jesus this Advent!  And let’s hope for lots of strikes and spares!

Written by Gretty Schmidt

1 Response to “Conspiracy + Bowling = Baby Chicks?”


  1. 1 Nancy December 16, 2008 at 9:42 pm

    You could go for the mini rubber duckies at bed bath and beyond. They’re ever so cute!
    What a great idea!! I love it!


Leave a Reply

Love All

Act Local: Share gifts of time and resources with those in our community. At the Impact Tree in the Atrium, find opportunities available for individuals, families and life groups. All the information you need will be on the cards by the Tree. Take a card – put an ornament on the tree.

Give Global: On Sunday, December 13 during services, we'll take up an Advent Conspiracy offering (a direct result of spending less) to give towards clean water projects and wheelchair needs in Honduras, Kenya and Romania. If you won’t be able to join us at services on that day but still want to participate, just write "Advent" in the memo of your check and drop it in any of the offering boxes.


